A color copier costs $4000 and has a click rate of 7 cents for color copies and 1 cent for BW copies.
Another copier costs $7000 and has a click rate of 5.5 cents for color and 1 cent for black and white.
When does it make sense to choose the $7000 copier?
There are several ways to figure this one out. The easiest method to me is to do this.
Differential of Unit Cost / Differential of Click Cost = Breakeven prints between copiers.
In this instance – $3000/.015 (color differential) = 200,000 color prints or 3,333 per month for 5 years. If you were doing 5,000 color copies a month, you may as well get the $7000 because you’ll likely get a lot better copier and a lower cost over time.
This not make sense? Call us and let us help you get the best copier deal in Boston. We’ll even do the math for you!